Sordid Lives by Del Shores

September 21 – October 14

SORDID LIVES
By Del Shores
Directed by Hannah Eckstein

This rip-roaring black comedy about white trash tells the story of a colorful family from a small Texas town coming to grips with the accidental death of the elderly family matriarch, during a clandestine meeting in a seedy motel room with her much younger, married neighbor. The family and friends must deal with their own demons while preparing for what could be an embarrassing funeral.

Sordid Lives Performances:

Fri Sept 21 @ 8pm – Opening Night Champagne Reception
Sat Sept 22 @8pm
Thur Sept 27 @8pm – Community Night tickets 2 for 1
Fri Sept 28 @ 8pm
Sat Sept 29 @8pm
Sun Sept 30 @2pm – Talk Back with the cast and director
Fri Oct 5 @ 8pm
Sat Oct 6 @8pm
Sun Oct 7 @2pm
Fri Oct 12 @ 8pm
Sat Oct 13 @8pm
Sun Oct 14 @2pm

The winner of 14 DramaLogue Awards, including Best Production, Sordid Lives tells a wild and wooly family story about acceptance, and just being who you are – which is saying a lot for these characters.  A colorful family from a small Texas town comes to grips with the accidental death of the elderly matriarch during a clandestine meeting in a seedy motel room with her much younger, married neighbor. A legless Vietnam vet, a transvestite obsessed with Tammy Wynette, an over-sexed therapist, and an ex-con bar singer are just a few of the characters trying to get ready for what could be a very embarrassing funeral.

Sordid Lives was also a 2000 independent film, written and directed by Del Shores, and starring Olivia Newton-John, Beau Bridges, Delta Burke, and Bonnie Bedelia. The film was followed by the 2008 television series Sordid Lives: The Series.

Director Hannah Eckstein has starred in several MCT productions including Harvey, The Secret Affairs of Mildred Wild, and Other Desert Cities, and directed many productions in Los Angeles before moving to Santa Cruz.

Please join us for this black comedy directed with love and style starring a terrific group of local actors.

Sunday, October 14 at 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Mountain Community Theatre 9400 Mill Street Ben Lomond, CA 95005

Event Type

Arts & Culture, Theater

Target Audience

LGBTQ / LGBTQIA2

Topic

Arts & Culture

Price

$

Region

San Lorenzo Valley (Ben Lomond, Boulder Creek, Felton)

Website

http://mctshows.org

Cost

$17 students/$21 general

Hashtag

##mctshows #delshores #soridlives #theater

Subscribe
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

Event Registration Required

This event requires registration.